EIGHT FLOWERS IN MY GARDEN TODAY

The sun is shining, the sky is clear and it is a wonderful morning to walk through my garden to see what is blooming. Here are eight of the flowers that caught my eye:

The first are the self-sown marguerite daisies that I transplanted to next to our swimming pool about three years ago. They have rewarded me ever since with a showy cover of white blossoms. Once the flowering season is over, I prune them right back and wait for the next show:

Marguerite daisy

These primulas were purchased from our local nursery to brighten up a shady spot next to the bird bath. Although they are past their prime, they still provide a cheerful sparkle of colour:

primula

This Aloe ciliaris came from a slip I collected in a friend’s garden and is proving to be an exceptionally hardy plant:

Aloe ciliaris

Marigolds are good companion plants for vegetables:

marigold

I first planted nasturtium seeds years ago and now am never without them. Their jewel-like colours never fail to please. They actually bloom best with a minimum amount of watering too:

nasturtium

This lonely snapdragon seeded itself from who knows where. I am delighted that it has:

snapdragon

The indigenous crossberry attracts bees and other insects as well as the sunbirds:

crossberry

I always enjoy the blooms of the Black-eyed Susan creeper peering out of the tangle of ivy and plum leaves:

blackeyedsusan

2 thoughts on “EIGHT FLOWERS IN MY GARDEN TODAY

    • Thank you! I lack a large sunny space in which to create a spectacular bed of flowers and so use the pockets of sunny spots where I can. So far, mixing fruit, flowers, herbs and vegetables in our back garden is working well.

Leave a Reply

