BOOKS NEED TO BE SHARED

I shudder sometimes when I come across articles relating to the decluttering of one’s home. I look at images of childrens’ bedrooms done up in bright colours and floating shelves artfully decorated with the odd car or doll – where are the books, I ask myself.

I know a child who loves to read.

I shudder sometimes when I hear people talking about ‘getting rid’ of their childrens’ clothes and toys and the books they have ‘grown out of’.

I know a child who loves to know who used to read the book she’s reading.

I shudder when I see books used as props in home décor magazines to hold a pot plant or piled on the floor tied with coloured string to serve as a doorstop. How can you treat books like this, I want to shout.

I know a child who loses herself in worlds away from where she lives.

I really shudder when I see books in good condition being cut up, or pasted over, or painted, or folded in the name of an art form that is likely to be tossed aside in years to come.

I know a child who longs for peace and solitude so that she can read undisturbed.

I know a child who harbours a desire to keep every book she has enjoyed.

I have kept the books my children read. They have been dusted off for the next generation to read.

I love reading the stories I read to my children to their children.

I love listening to my children reading the stories I read to them to their children.

Books are friends
Books need to be read
Books need to be cherished
Books need to be shared.

3 thoughts on “BOOKS NEED TO BE SHARED

  1. I kept the favorites from my kids’ childhood, hoping to one day pass them on. I still enjoy reading them when wee ones come to visit. The others were donated to the school book sale and hopefully they were loved by their new owners!

    • It is the “loved by their new owners” that counts, I think. The real favourites are the treasures not to be tossed aside. There is something magical about reading a familiar story to the “wee ones”, whoever they are, and to sense their anticipation and wonder at the way it unfolds.

Leave a Reply

