MY BRUSH WITH CORPORAL PUNISHMENT

Just over two weeks ago I happened to meet a former colleague striding along the pavement as I was about to get into my car. He gleefully told me that he was retiring at the end of the year and that it wasn’t “a moment too soon!” I bid him farewell and thought about my years in education as I drove home. It is true that the nature of education has changed dramatically in some ways over the years. Never mind the content of subjects or the way they might be presented in classrooms, it was the notion of corporal punishment that stuck in my mind.

Even though corporal punishment in schools was prohibited by the South African Schools Act (No. 84 of 1996) and implemented from 1997, one still reads about sporadic instances of it being applied in 2022! Every time I do, I wonder why the teachers who still (and illegally so) administer corporal punishment are not taken to book – or perhaps the newshounds are not interested enough to follow through on such reports.

Corporal punishment was accepted without question during my school years. What a barbaric practice it is: allowing adults the freedom to beat a child for even a trifling misdemeanour – and how convenient it was to cite the aphorism, ‘spare the rod, spoil the child’ as justification for it! Contrary to the belief of many parents and teachers of the time, this phrase does not come from the Bible but from the 17th-century poem Hudibras written by the poet and satirist, Samuel Butler. Some have used Proverbs 13:24 as support: He that spareth his rod hateth his son: But he who loves him chasteneth him betimes.

I am not entering that debate, but can clearly recall being horrified when a teacher at the primary school I attended for a term routinely smacked children with a ruler on their open hands. This action could be provoked by anything from forgetting to bring a particular book to class to spelling a word incorrectly. I bridled the first time I was smacked on my hand by our science teacher when I was in Standard Six (now Grade 8). He would make the girls hold out their open hands while he whacked the ruler down as many times as he deemed necessary.

My eyes stung with the pain, my fingers swelled and my hand(s) burned. My resolve hardened: I would never grant him the satisfaction of seeing me cry! Ironically, he was an excellent teacher who normally made our lessons interesting – particularly important for me as they were in a language not my own. Perhaps he was simply a product of his time who hadn’t considered any other way of punishing girls who had performed poorly in a test.

Since when has punishment encouraged learning, even less the understanding of concepts?

My epiphany came within the first weeks of my first appointment as a qualified teacher: as I walked towards the headmaster’s office for assistance with a glitch in the payment of my first salary, a small boy from the primary school section reached the door before me. He knocked on the open door and I saw him hand over a note, presumably from his teacher.

I froze with horror as the headmaster, a rather tall man, told the boy to bend down while he selected a whipping cane from a rack against the wall of his office. I could scarcely believe that he could calmly proceed to beat the crying boy six times! No amount of pleading would make the man stop. What could the boy have done to deserve such punishment? I couldn’t help wondering why there had been no discussion with the boy either before or after. What had been the educational value of the exercise?

The snivelling boy returned to his classroom while the headmaster returned the cane to its place in the rack. He then calmly asked how he could help me.

I vowed then and there that I would resolve discipline issues within the classroom and never send any pupil of mine to be caned in such a cold-hearted manner. To my chagrin, I came close – almost too close …

You try to teach Henry V to a class of twenty-five boys who are more interested in fishing, fixing cars and fighting than having anything to do with Shakespeare. I had already had to survive finding live snakes in my desk drawer (such was their sense of humour) or being confronted by one when a boy ostensibly required my assistance. During my first few weeks of teaching at that school I had become adept at confiscating these creatures by placing them in my handbag, which would be kept firmly zipped closed until I could release them in the veld after school.

Shakespeare was several steps too far: with each lesson the boys became rowdier and set about punching each other for entertainment. They were getting out of hand. In desperation one day, I called the ringleader. “Rubino, come with me!”

I stormed down the long passage of the top floor of the building, aware that the stocky Standard Nine (Grade 11) boy was battling to keep up with me. My blood was up and my disappointment in my proposed course of action was throbbing in my ears. I clattered down two flights of stairs and starting striding along the last passage – then stopped. I turned to look at his startled face.

“Where are we going?” I demanded.

“To the headmaster’s office.”

“Why?”

“So I can get caned.” This was obviously a familiar routine for him.

I turned on my heel. “Let’s go back to the classroom.” My teaching career is in tatters, I thought. I’ve lost control of a group of unruly boys and will never succeed in teaching them anything. I felt a failure as I entered the classroom behind the boy. Instead of the derision and laughter I was expecting because I had obviously not carried out my intentions, this lad stood in front of his classmates and growled fiercely, “If any of you mess with ma’am I’ll donner [beat up] the lot of you!”

Looking back after having spent forty years in education, I am proud to say that I never had to resort to outside help in disciplinary matters.

34 thoughts on “MY BRUSH WITH CORPORAL PUNISHMENT

  1. Amazing story, Anne. You earned that respect in a positive way. I remember witnessing in Grade 2 (7 years old) a classmate get hit with a ruler when she couldn’t provide the right answer and crumpled into tears. I was appalled that a teacher could do that and I suppose it was the root of my determination to always have the right answer, not sure fear is a healthy motivator, but I became a top student from then on. These scars last a lifetime.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I still firmly believe that punishment of any kind should not be meted out sans an investigation, explanation and a discussion about the way forward. Corporal punishment in schools is a sadistic measure at best.

      Liked by 1 person

    • To teach Shakespeare or not to teach Shakespeare … that is the question! There is a strong move away from him as more relevant literature clamours to be explored.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Perhaps it should have been used as a form of punishment instead of the cane or ruler! 🤔 I think the boys would have behaved then! I recall being given spelling tests in junior school. (I would be around 9 or 10 years old). If you got more than 1 out of 20 wrong, you had to stay behind and write the incorrect words out 20 times. Our Games (usually football) lesson always followed, so to this day my spelling has always been pretty good! 👍👍

        Like

  2. This is amazing to read, and I definitely got the ruler beating a couple of times in primary school (in Kenya). It is nothing but traumatic for a lot of children and you end up fearing teachers instead of respecting them, and this in the long run leads to the poor treatment of teachers by students. And once those children become teachers they choose to either continue the nasty tradition or be different and find other ways of engaging students!

    Like

  3. What a story Anne! I remember getting the strap once in grade school. I was in grade one and my cousin Jane was talking to me across the aisle and even though I hadn’t said a word we were both sent to the front of the class and given the strap on our hands and the embarrassment of standing there in front of the whole school – it was a one room schoolhouse grades one to 8. I cried because of that and mostly the unfairness of it all when I hadn’t even been talking. There were only 3 of us in grade one, so she hardly spent any time with us and she was always in a bad mood due to the unruly older kids. Half way through the year all the rural one room schools were closed and we went to school in town, and corporal punishment was outlawed there. I don’t remember anyone getting punished in the new 4 room Catholic school, where I had excellent teachers. I suppose if you acted out you were sent to the principals office and your parents called. Most kids were well behaved, as teachers were respected and we were taught religion. I picked up a new book today at the library called A Year in the Life of a Principal – here’s the link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/59366196-for-the-love-of-learning I don’t know when I’ll have time to start it, as I currently have 7 books out!

    Like

  4. A heartwarming story, Anne! Your post reminded me of the time one of my teachers hit me with a cane on my palm, five times. Reason? I hadn’t done the homework. It was my first day in her class having transferred from another school in a different state, and yet I was supposed to know and have done the homework! Corporal punishment was common in homes too. We have rules in place too now, but one hears of cases now and then of children getting caned by teachers.

    Like

    • It is so unnecessary and, as you point out, not easy to forget – yet I doubt if it teaches anyone anything in the educational sense. Fear and pain are not good teachers.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.