TRAVEL BY ANY MEANS

We can all walk – travelling by Shanks’s Pony it is called – which is a wonderful way of exploring an area, watching birds, looking out for plants, and – if you are fortunate – animals. I was walking alone in the bushveld when I happened upon this waterbuck – truly a special moment.

The desire to move faster and be more mobile is strong. So it is that one of the first modes of transport children get to master is riding a bicycle.

I used to long for a bicycle and was delighted when I was allowed to use the ‘farm bike’ when we stayed on the family farm for extended periods while I was in primary school. This was a heavy, men’s bicycle (with a cross bar) which was far too large for me to ride whilst sitting on the saddle so I rode standing up, with one leg through the cross bar – not the most comfortable position, yet it gave me the freedom to cycle around the farm and later to explore the dirt road that led to the farm. The wind in my hair, the dust on my face, the sheer wonder of being able to cover distances faster than I could walk made up for any awkwardness of posture. Speaking of dirt roads, they conjure up images of ‘the road less travelled’ and exciting expectations of out-of-the-way places. I think this picture sums up the anticipation that dirt roads bring.

Looking up at a vapour trail in the sky can create a yearning for travelling ever further and faster.

Whether one is flying between cities in South Africa or to continents far away, the sight of aeroplanes parked on runways takes the desire to travel up a level – the possibilities are endless.

 

14 thoughts on “TRAVEL BY ANY MEANS

  1. The human mind has developed over millennia to accept impressions at the speed of walking. Moving much faster than that does not leave lasting impressions.

    Like

    • You are right: fleeting ones at best. This is why it is important to stop along one’s journey to gain a lasting impression of new environments and experiences.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I used to love travelling by train. Alas, very few passenger trains run between our main towns any more. My favourite form of travel now is in our 4×4 bakkie that we can drive over the roughest of roads to out-of-the-way places where we can still appreciate nature at its best.

      Like

    • The same applies to me. Fortunately we have two national parks within easy reach from where we live and now tend to make only one long journey a year – making the trip part of the holiday.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.