COMMON SAGE

Sage has silvery or grey-green leaves and, although it is now cultivated all over the world, is actually native to the Mediterranean region. Salvia officinalis – how is that for an official sounding name – is more generally known as common cage or more simply as sage. The genus Salvia means ‘to cure or to save’ which is not surprising as this plant is believed to have many curative properties that benefits our health and general well-being. As it is also one of those staple herbs often called for in cooking, it is worth growing a sage bush in one’s garden. Thanks to its strong aroma and rather earthy flavour, sage is typically used in small amounts – another reason for growing one’s own sage as you might only wish to use a leaf or two.

As you can tell from the above, more than people enjoy sage. Perhaps this caterpillar or beetle was experiencing digestive issues.

28 thoughts on “COMMON SAGE

  1. A rugged plant, with so many good properties, no wonder it is cultivated world-wide. My husband makes tea out its leaves, supposedly very healthful. I find it an acquired taste. 😉 There was a patch here when we arrived almost 32 years ago and it is still going strong. I cut it back in spring and it just bounces right back. Rugged, indeed!

    Like

  2. The only one I am aware of is the pretty Salvia Africana-lutea (brown sage) that can be used for cooking vegetable and pasta dishes, chicken, making sauces, stews and roasts. The flowers are edible and can be used as a garnish in salads.

    Like

  3. I grow sage in my garden too. I love the silvery leaves and the fragrance of it too. I also burn white sage insence when I feel the need.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.