A PRETTY IRIS

Some years ago my brother gave me a clump of irises that he was thinning out in his Gauteng garden. All such donations are gratefully accepted and for the next few years I enjoyed the bounty of their blooming. Then came the drought. Year after year more of them died. I simply didn’t have the water to keep them alive – although the unbearable heat was something they had to contend with too. I am left with three plants, one of which has bravely put forth a flower.

Such a pretty flower is worth a closer look.

I only noticed the tiny beetle (visible in both the above photographs) after taking the second one. It too needs a closer look.

25 thoughts on “A PRETTY IRIS

  1. I love bearded irises. This one has such rich color. It is quite beautiful and it must be very good stock to have survived the horrible drought you are in.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.