ON BECOMING

When I was very young, I recall dreaming about what I would become: I knew that there would always be books in my life – I never realised quite how many I would end up with; that I would teach was never a doubt in my mind … I valiantly tried to teach my father to speak Afrikaans; and, I imagined that I would travel all over the world.

I have never been without books in my life and keep a good store of them to read. It was not always easy to give in to my enjoyment of reading while I was working and bringing up children – and later caring for and entertaining grandchildren. It was a few years into retirement before I felt I could indulge in my love of reading at any time of the day with a clear conscience.

Teaching turned out to be the right profession for me: I am an educator at heart and delight in sharing information and insights with others. I have taught at pre-school, primary school, secondary school, university, and at the level of adult basic education. The teaching journey has been exhausting, exasperating at times, and most fulfilling. After a career of forty years though, I felt content to step back from the classroom.

Travelling the world comes at a cost I have not been able to afford. Nonetheless, I have been blessed to make brief forays into Europe, the United Kingdom, Mozambique, the Kingdom of Eswatini, Botswana, Namibia and LeSotho before starting a family. I thoroughly enjoy travelling through South Africa, where there are still so many places I have not yet been to.

As the years passed, I found myself becoming a different ‘self’ according to the changes and needs of the time: a good wife; a devoted mother and grandmother; a dedicated teacher; a fluent public speaker; an efficient organiser; and a faithful friend. Somehow, in this maelstrom of being everything to everyone else, I began to lose sight of what I had wanted to be.

Now that I no longer have either children or grandchildren at home – as sad as that is – I am gradually sloughing off those earlier demands and emerging as someone I have felt a wish to be: yes – a devoted wife; a loving and caring mother and grandmother; and a trusted friend. There is more though. I can feel a lightening of heart at the shedding of earlier responsibilities and concerns. I read; I garden; I listen to music; I cook; I knit; I take photographs; and I write.

As I continue to learn to be myself, I realise that I am becoming the real me that swirled around in the busyness of the past: I am becoming me.

33 thoughts on “ON BECOMING

  1. Lovely thoughtful post! I also feel that I have found myself in retirement and can pursue interests that were on the back burner for many years. I have made new friends and have more time for old ones. The only drawback is that it necessarily has to be the shorter part of my life!

    Like

  2. Yes! I love hearing about your process! I’m retired seven years and am digging into find what has been lying dormant; waiting for expression. It’s exciting! I hope you are happy with what you are finding.

    Like

  3. I got off to a bad start and never got to know the real me. Becoming a real person takes more application than I have, and I fear it is too late now. I will remain someone who is acting a part rather than being.

    Like

  4. Anne, you highlighted your achievements and how you most enjoy spending your leisure time post-retirement nicely in this post. I am still finding my way since my retirement – hopefully, after I finish organizing things after Winter is over, in 2025 all systems will be “go” for doing more enjoyable things including wading through my “to be read” books.

    Like

      • I agree with your mindset Anne. I am trying to balance both and next week we’ll have temps of 90-100 F (32 – 37C) so I will make use of that heat wave to get some things done then. It has not been a good Spring – most days have been very gusty winds, all day long, plus many gray days as well.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Wonderful post, Anne, and I am glad you are finding time to express yourself for your own good. In retirement, we finally give ourselves permission to follow our desires and pursue what makes us truly happy. It is a joyful release!

    Like

  6. What a lovely post Anne! I think we all lose ourselves at some point as we become embroiled in responsibilities to others but it is lovely to find ourselves again whhen we are able to retire from those roles to some degree.

    Like

  7. I took early retirement, as did my husband. We both say it was the best thing we’ve ever done. Now we’ve travelled around Europe, made a brief foray into Africa (Morocco), Asia, (Turkey and Dubai), and 2 brief trips to the Americas.

    I’ve taken up music again, relearning to play the piano, too.

    Ot’s been a great time.

    Like

  8. Aww – I loved this. Thank you for sharing your journey of becoming yourself. I would love to travel more often as well, but its so very expensive now, as is everything! I can resonate with being everything to everyone else – its not a good habit to have as its very tiring… People pleasing is as well, which I’m recovering from! Hope you’re having a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.