WHITE SPOTTED FRUIT CHAFER

This shiny black beetle with eight white spots was easy to see against the greenery in the garden as I walked past:

A closer look revealed it likely to be a White-spotted Fruit Chafer (Mausoleopsis amabilis), which feeds on decaying plant matter, fungi, dung, and flowers. This one appears to be eating a leaf.

Although these chafers are common to most habitat types in Southern Africa, I haven’t seen many of them in my garden before. In the picture below, you might spot an insect I didn’t see at the time – a brown spiky-legged creature on the leaf in the foreground.

23 thoughts on “WHITE SPOTTED FRUIT CHAFER

    • The adults nibble on flower petals and, because they feed on nectar and plant juices, they can cause severe damage to flowering ornamental plants such as roses – and fruit of course.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Years ago I kept pictures and sketches of insects that I found in our garden. I think insects are fascinating. This is a pretty bug despite its destructive ways.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.