JUNE TRAVELS

Somehow June has never been a great month for travelling. I suppose this is mostly because I was unable to get much leave at that time while I was working; it is also a fairly chilly time of the year – especially for camping; and yet, while I was looking through my photographs of the Pool Garden I featured yesterday, I realised that we have indeed got out and about in June most years. In 2015 we enjoyed a delightful weekend on a farm in the Eastern Cape, where we were woken up by cows very early in the morning.

A year later we were in the Addo Elephant National Park – this is a photograph of what the Ghwarrie Dam looked like then:

Two years later saw us in Observatory, Cape Town:

We obviously didn’t travel anywhere exciting during the next few years and so in June 2021 I photographed these hills from along the Highlands road in the Eastern Cape, not far from where I live:

Our longed for overseas trip to visit our sons came about in 2023. Having spent some time in Norway, we also visited Glasgow, Scotland, where I photographed the crowds in Buchanan Street:

We visited the Karoo National Park after Easter this year, followed by a delightful visit to the Mountain Zebra National Park in May … June has been a stay-at-home month during which I have got stuck into my back garden:

I have since filled the front section with pansies and petunias – worth staying at home for!

 

18 thoughts on “JUNE TRAVELS

  1. Staying at home and gardening is my favorite pastime. I used to love to travel when younger, not so much since 2020. Lost my mojo!

    Hope to see that plot once in fills in. 🙂

    Like

    • Covid put a dampener on so many things in our lives. I am glad you are getting out more. We have another trip planned for the Mountain Zebra National Park in spring.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, as a single person with no family at all, I am very careful, probably overly careful in staying away from crowds and still masking up, despite having all my shots/boosters. I do think I can ease up on it now … we have come a long way.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. If you were visiting your sons in Norway and Glasgow you must have a very warm coat!

    I bought one especially for Glasgow because we were going there for Xmas and New Year. (Hogmanay) I was glad of that coat, in snowy Scotland but of course I haven’t worn it in Australia since then….. Hopefully one day it will be worn again!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.