TIME

Time is an interesting concept. Despite the hours and minutes we have allotted to each day, depending on how we are feeling or what we are doing, it either seems to drag or passes by too quickly for our liking. Think of a quick meeting between two lovers, as described by Carol Ann Duffy:

Love’s time’s beggar, but even a single hour,

bright as a dropped coin, makes love rich.

We find an hour together, spend it not on flowers

or wine, but the whole of the summer sky and a grass ditch.

 Yet, the seconds tick by forming minutes, which form hours that collectively make up days then weeks and even years. This happens relentlessly, no matter what we are doing or how we might feel.

William Shakespeare also understood the changing perceptions of time:

Time is very slow for those who wait;
very fast for those who are scared;
very long for those who lament;
very short for those who celebrate; but for those who love, time is eternal.

I rather enjoy the idea of measuring time from sunrise to the middle of the day to sunset and beyond. There is a feeling of ease in this even though one might be busy. Think of those ancient times now behind us as depicted by William Blake:

And did those feet in ancient time
Walk upon England’s mountains green:

For some, time seemed to speed up once digital time-pieces became common: time is measured to the very second! This gives the impression of there being no time to waste for it is now exactly 14:35.21. I regard analogue time as being friendlier: it is nearly twenty to three. Exact seconds and minutes don’t count. I will meet you at around three o’clock. This is why I prefer my current wristwatch to any digital ones I have owned before.

Roman numerals … they are commonly used on public clock faces. Do you know that many young people are unable to read Roman numerals anymore?

Church steeples in this country often have clocks in them – a fine way for townsfolk to tell the time without having to own a watch. The clock in our cathedral use to boom the quarter hours and hours. Then there were complaints about the noise keeping people awake at night, so the chiming stopped at around 6 p.m. Now the clock remains silent.

The clock on our Town Hall hasn’t told the correct time for years.

I have met a number of people who rely on their cell phones when checking the time – there is no longer a greatly felt need to wear a wrist watch. Long before then fob watches were used.

We could even return to a reliance on sundials.

 

32 thoughts on “TIME

  1. Any single block of time might drag by for me, but the days and weeks and months tend to FLY by! What my grandmother warned me of when I was just a kid is proving true: Time goes faster the older one gets! The photos of the watches reminded me of my daughter’s recent purchase at an estate auction of a box full of watches. Her husband collects watches. Upon subsequent research, she found that the ones she bought range in value from $60 to more than $1000! Time is valuable in more ways than one!

    Like

    • This is certainly an interesting aspect on the value of time 🙂 Your grandmother was right: I feel that time passes by very quickly the older I get. Is it because we are conscious that we are nearing the end of our time and there is so much to be done? Perhaps it is because, once retired, we have the time to knuckle down to things we couldn’t do before and so are busy. I feel I am so busy each day that I have actually ‘made’ time to read during the late afternoon and evening 🙂 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I don’t know. I’m only “semi-retired,” but it seems I have so many things to do now that I don’t have time to do the things I couldn’t do when I was working fulltime! On the rare occasion when I’m not busy, the kids find something for me to do! But I’d rather be busy than bored! And yes, I do think we tend to reflect on the fact that our time is short and yet there are so many things we still want to do.

        Liked by 1 person

    • I get a sense of this whenever we go camping: up at sunrise, stopping in the main heat of the day, eating at dusk and sleeping once it is dark. This is a lovely rhythm to live by. Of course the pressure of work and appointments and … do not allow for this in our everyday lives.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. lovely reflections

    i gave up wearing a wristwatch several years ago

    i now rely on the clock on my PC or phone – but on both I have an analogue clock widget!

    there is something reassuring about the roundness

    a gentle reminder of the eternal cycles

    -✧✦☆❖◈❋✤☆✦-∞-♡-∞-✦☆✤❋◈❖☆✦✧-

    Like

  3. Very interesting post Ann, and I especially enjoyed the quotes, Shakespeare understood so much!
    I must talk to my grandchildren about Roman numerals, I doubt they have come across Roman numerals in their young lives.

    Like

    • It is quite possible that they don’t interact with Roman numerals in a meaningful way in their daily lives. They are useful to know though 🙂

      Like

  4. Anne, since we have moved to Mozam, time has become less important. Strange but true. We are now on Africa time, no more ‘see you at three.’ Rather ‘see you sometime during the day.’

    Like

  5. I no longer wear a watch – partly because I rarely need to know the time exactly and [artly because I spend so much time working in the garden where it gets in the way or dirty or damaged. But I do have clocks dotted around the place in sheds and the workshop in case I need to check. When out and about in towns I have noticed that there are fewer and fewer public clocks – as you say everyone relies on their phone!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.