KHAKIBOS

Two years ago I posted an entry about the arrival of alien invasive plants in this country as a result of the seeds being brought in with the fodder required for the horses used by the British troops during the Anglo-Boer War (1899-1902). To my surprise, there have been a number of regular views since then from people wanting to know more about Khakibos, known elsewhere as Mexican Marigolds.

While my interest stems from their link to a conflict from the past that has had long-term consequences in this country, I have been intrigued by the interest shown in it as a plant in its own right. As I have mentioned before, Tagetes minuta was dubbed Khakibos (khaki bush) by the Boers in South Africa because of the khaki uniforms the British troops wore during the Anglo-Boer War – in sharp contrast to the traditional red and white uniforms worn during the earlier Anglo-Transvaal War (1880-1881). The British Army probably realised that wearing drab coloured uniforms would be a better camouflage.

Despite being regarded as invasive alien plants, these hardy weeds have been put to good use over time. Khakibos has long been used as a tick and flea repellent – I can remember besoms being made of Khakibos to sweep around the farm yard and laying Khakibos in the farmhouse before it was closed for long periods of time in order to limit the presence of fleas. It has a pleasant aroma when dried and a distinctive smell when fresh – one that takes me right back to my childhood forays into the veld.

With the development of technology and a broader understanding of the advantages of this plant, it now forms an important ingredient in many pet shampoos and other products. Having grown up in an environment where the Khakibos was simply regarded as a weed, I still find it astounding that it is actually cultivated in order to extract essential oils by means of steam distillation. According to the late Margaret Roberts, it is also useful to include Khakibos in one’s compost heap as it discourages the presence of egg-laying insects. It has also been recommended as a natural insect repellent for the vegetable garden: either growing it alongside one’s tomatoes or pumpkins, for example, or cutting it and placing it between such plants.

So, far from being an invasive alien – still detested by some – the Khakibos has turned out to be a useful plant after all!

8 thoughts on “KHAKIBOS

  1. Do you have a field of khakibos that you want to trim down? Put some donkeys in there. Khakibos is like chocolate to donkeys: they just can’t get enough of it!
    I always save some seeds and distribute them among my vegetable patches to keep pest insects away and if grown together with marigolds, the latter attract butterflies and bees, which helps with pollination.

    Like

    • I know about using khakibos as a companion plant with vegetables but had no idea that donkeys like it so much – thank you for that information.

      Like

  2. Thank you so much for this very interesting article. I am teaching my son about a different plant every day and your write-up has been one of the most insightful to date, with it going beyond just the habitat and features. I have saved your page and will be reading more.

    Like

  3. Kakie bos has always intrigued me as I have seen the advantages of having it in my garden in between my fruit trees and vegetable garden as a pest control.

    I will try the cold press to see if I can exact some oil from it .

    I am a bit sceptical of making a tea for human consumption. And to see if there is some health benefits to it.

    has anyone tried it ,I would like some feedback.

    Like

    • Khakibos is a wonderful pest control – it certainly kept our farmhouse free from fleas during the periods we were away. I wouldn’t try drinking tea made from it but, who knows, someone may have tried it out!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.