A CRICKET IN MY KITCHEN

The chirping of crickets is synonymous with summer. They belong outside and can sometimes be seen hiding in the lawn. Well, it is winter in South Africa now and this cricket decided to visit my kitchen:

Not fully in focus, alas, as it jumped as I pressed the button on my cell phone. Even this blurry look reveals the cylindrical body, round head, and the long antennae that makes up the typical appearance of a cricket. Those back legs look remarkably similar to the legs of a grasshopper.

25 thoughts on “A CRICKET IN MY KITCHEN

    • I have read that too. For me, the main problem with a cricket in the house is the loud, close chirping that is bound to interfere with one’s peaceful sleep πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Our chalet is called Chalet Les Criquets and we certainly have quite a few crickets, but more grasshoppers, chirruping around in the summer. Thankfully the pitch of some is quite high so I don’t hear them. There are some advantages to getting older… 😊

    Like

      • You could keep it and read The Cricket on the Hearth! I’ve never read it but wondered what Dickens wrote about and the name?

        Like

      • I removed the cricket today πŸ™‚ In the story Dickens wrote, the chirping cricket acted as a kind of guardian angel for the family. You have reminded me to read it again sometime πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • It sounds interesting….maybe I’ll read it too….it’s in a Dickens Anthology I own of his shorter books, of which the only one I’ve read is A Christmas Carol. I knew you would know!

        Like

  2. I don’t think I’ve seen a cricket that looks like this one before – I wonder how many kinds of orthoptera (crickets, katydids, grasshoppers and locusts) we have in South Africa?

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.