A GLIMPSE OF PINK

The Forest Pink Hibiscus (Hibiscus pedunculatus) is a common forest margin plant found in different parts of the country, including the Eastern Cape.

My rather wild and overgrown garden qualifies as home for this shrub that tolerates light shade.This indigenous hibiscus is a delight to have in the garden and so I regard it as a rather special plant citizen, even though I have observed that it flowers less often in full shade.

It is a dainty, shrubby perennial bearing solitary, slightly drooping, pink flowers that peep through the foliage of other plants that have grown up around it. Their beauty is transient though as each flower only lasts a day. I thus feel a deep sense of satisfaction whenever they appear.

The flowers are easy to see as the plant bears rather sparse foliage with only a few branches branching off the main woody stem.

The rather rough leaves are covered in short hairs and feel a bit like sandpaper.

The seeds last a long time on the plant before opening up. This summer I need to dig up some seedlings which I can then transplant to a slightly sunnier spot in the hope of them producing more flowers as this shrub is now in a deeply shaded area.

16 thoughts on “A GLIMPSE OF PINK

  1. I had a huge pink hibiscus tree in my backyard. It kind of get out of hand and became so huge but it was home to many birds. When we sold the house we later learned that the new house owner has cut of ALL trees in our garden. The birds apparently flew in circles at night because their home was destroyed. I loved that tree even though the pink flowers in the pool was always a mess to ckean up.

    Like

    • I can imagine my forest of trees being chopped down to make way for someone else’s idea of a manicured garden. This is a haven for birds.

      Like

  2. What a beautiful hibiscus. I can imagine the bees like the flowers. I love to see bumble bees rooting around the hibiscus flowers here. They get their little furry bodies covered with pollen.

    Like

  3. Attractive, textured foliage and pink flowers. I bet it would benefit from hard pruning annually to keep it bushy and promote flowering, aided by more sun. A lovely plant!

    Like

    • One day the light will be ‘just right’ and my hand will be steady so that I can provide a really good photograph of it. So far that has been a challenge because of the shade.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. So glad to see that yours are self-seeding. Ours do too and I have found them easy to transplant successfully when they are small, although I usually put the seedlings in pots to grow a bit bigger before planting them out. One of my favourite plants!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.