ABANDONED WHEELBARROW

When I looked through our garden gate, this is what I saw:

A wheelbarrow filled with grass cuttings and a few sticks seemingly abandoned on the pavement. There was not a soul in sight. A few minutes later I looked out again and this is what I saw:

The now empty wheelbarrow (bar what could have been a rake and some other gardening tool) being pushed along the pavement. It was the middle of the morning and this man probably felt his work was done. I later discovered the contents of the wheelbarrow had simply been tipped over the edge of the lawn where it dips down to the abandoned railway tracks.

A few days later I saw this wheelbarrow that has finished its active carting days and is now parked on a pavement in Bathurst:

It is carrying its final load, which doubtless looks very attractive when the plants are blooming. This ‘abandoned’ wheelbarrow has made its final roll of the wheel:

21 thoughts on “ABANDONED WHEELBARROW

    • Oh Julie, this is a story I was not aware of and stopped then to read it on slideshare: what an interesting story it is too! Thank you for that analogy, it is an apt one indeed … always giving.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Interesting. I had a wheelbarrow just like the old one pictured. My husband had rescued it from being dumped years before we married. We used it until a few years ago. I turned it into a planter after the bottom deteriorated. We finally gave it up a couple of years ago. We never had a flat tire with that one. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • We too had ones with the metal wheel – I only realised after posting that I could have drawn a comparison between the old and new wheels. It was good that your wheelbarrow lived on as a planter for some years.

      Like

  2. Reduce, re-use, recycle! Our society throws stuff away far too easily, especially things that take ages to be converted back into the cycle of nature. What a wonderful example of treading lightly on the earth this repurposed wheelbarrow makes!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.